The Year without a Summer, 2008


schoolgirl reading Megan Wing
schoolgirls sketching Mary Shelley Esmee Clarke
Krishangi Bent
Libby Hamilton Hooper
Melissa Davies
Sharda Gregory
Hayley Mckinnon
teacher Claire Schofield
schoolgirl reading Stephanie Thomas
schoolgirls sketching Mary Wollstonecraft Alice Sarah Darko
Khaela Hunte
Maud Young
Martha Cooke
Poppy McPherson
Emily Button
teacher Masayo Okayasu


written and directed by Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
producer (London) Teresa Mulqueen
producer (Austin) Cara Carney
director of photography Wilson Waggoner
production facility Alpheus Media Inc.,
President Mat Hames
editor Alexander Birchler
gaffer Ewen Cassidy
key grip David Armstrong
best boy Susan Willett
sound recordist Gerard Abeile
post production audio Tom Hammond
audio studio Soundcrafter, Austin
still photographer Adam Schreiber
production assistants Alice Cutler
Emily Ng
Ender Santos
Molly Winters
Douglas Marshall
runner/driver Daniel Chaytor
craft service Imi Wise

Shot on location in Room 18 at the National Portrait Gallery, London

Reading excerpts from: Introduction to Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, with Strictures on Political and Moral Subjects by Mary Wollstonecraft

Commissioned by the Liverpool Biennial International with the support of the Burger Collection, Hong Kong and Switzerland

The artists would like to thank the following individuals and organizations for their generous support in the production:

The Tate Museum Liverpool
The National Portrait Gallery London
The Tate Museum Education Department, London
Galerie Barbara Thumm, Berlin
Laurence Sillars, Curator, Tate Liverpool
Kyla McDonald, Assistant to the Curator, Tate Liverpool
Bernard Horrocks, Copyright Officer, National Portrait Gallery London
Holland Park School, London
Summer University, London
FACT, Foundation for Art and Technology / Mites, Liverpool
Steven Bode, Film and Video Umbrella, London